Feast of the Resurrection

The Feast of the Resurrection is the most important feast in Christianity (Leo the Great calls it the festum festorum). Commemorating God the Father’s raising of our Lord Jesus Christ from the dead by the power of the Holy Spirit, the Feast of the Resurrection is as old as Christianity itself. Despite this, however, I find it interesting that I spend much more time thinking of and preparing for Christmas. Could this be because the Christmas traditions of gift-giving and the noche buena are more fun than the Easter salubong or the egg hunt?
 
Nevertheless, I’m happy that each year I think more of, prepare more for, and love more and more the Feast of the Resurrection. And now, for the first time, I am recording the things that happened to me on Resurrection Sunday.
 
  1. I unintentionally began the day by reading the answers of my FORMDEV students to the open ended questions in their FORMDEV final exam. (For more on FORMDEV, click here.) Once again I was encouraged to see that many have learned how important it is to root one’s zeal (enthusiasm, excellence, and perseverance) and love for others, especially for the poor, in one’s faith. This — the rooting of zeal and love in faith — is for me the essence of Lasallian spirituality. I was also happy to see that many students seem to have learned how important it is to help the poor because the Lord Jesus commands it and because the poor really need help in order to get out of what Jeffrey Sachs calls the “poverty trap”. Reflecting on these things I was reminded that, by God’s grace, we in FORMDEV do seem to be doing the right thing, and that we should therefore continue the work with even greater zeal and love rooted in faith.
  2. I read the First Letter of Peter and especially liked 1 Peter 1:3, which I sent by e-mail and SMS to many of my loved ones and brothers and sisters in Christ. The verse says: “All praise to God the Father of our Lord Jesus Christ. It is by his great mercy that we have been born again, because God raised Jesus Christ from the dead.”

    Resurrection Sunday morning from my balcony. Can you see the flock of doves, or maybe I should get a DSLR? 🙂
  3. I saw a flock of white doves flying across the bay. What a beautiful sight, though my camera wasn’t able to record it well. I wonder if I should be getting a DSLR. 🙂
  4. I participated actively in the worship service by singing passionately (I sometimes even sang in tongues, though barely audibly), listening actively and reflectively to the preaching (on the power of the name of Jesus), joyfully giving extra, and asking and believing God for the impossible (which we were challenged to do by a sister). It’s too premature at this stage share the impossible thing that I asked and believed God for, but among those on my prayer list, it is the one that stands out as the most challenging to accomplish.
  5. I had a relatively long and blessed chat (a.k.a. fellowship) with a brother at church and his wife. (I also had relatively long and blessed chats with a sister and two youths at church on Good Friday, thank God!)
  6. I had a joy-filled lunch-cum-afternoon-merienda with my family, with a very special cake from Becky’s.

What a wonderful day, thank God!

Tomorrow (Monday evening), I and a few other Metrobank Outstanding Teacher awardees will begin our four-day outreach road trip to Isabela, Cagayan, Ilocos Sur, and Ilocos Norte, where we will be visiting schools, especially those that serve the poor. May the Lord be with us!

4 thoughts on “Feast of the Resurrection

  1. God Bless on your outreach Sir! I had to zoom in on the picture to find the flock of doves, but I think a DSLR will not fare any better at this distance unless it is also equipped with powerful zoom lens. 🙂

  2. Hi Doc!

    Thank you for the message you sent and for sharing your day to all of us! I feel so blessed after reading item number 1 about the FORMDEV students learning more of the importance of being rooted in faith in God.

    Also, I saw the doves after clicking on the bigger picture and zooming it in. I don’t think you need to buy a DSLR as of yet but if you really want better quality photos compared to those taken by regular point and shoot cameras, take a look at pro-sumer point and shoots before jumping on the DSLR bandwagon. 🙂

    Thank God indeed for a wonderful day you experienced!

    Jeri

Leave a Reply

