Gawad Br. Cecilio Hojilla, FSC

Soon after our FORMDEV Bible study ended this evening, as I was leaving the faculty room, I met the Dean who was in a nice Filipiniana attire. When I asked her about the function that she attended, and she said it was the Gawad Lasalyano night, I was so shocked…

I was supposed to be there to receive the Gawad Br. Cecilio Hojilla Award for Outstanding Lasallian Mission Partners.  This was the first time that the award was given.

When I received the letter informing me of the award almost a month ago, I wrote the organizer back:

“I am very happy to accept this award, especially because it bears the name of FORMDEV’s most beloved brother, Br. Ceci, whose love I will never forget, and whose ministry of connection and affirmation enabled me and the FORMDEV community to become who we are today.

May I bring with me a couple of FORMDEV facis, especially those who have served with me for a long time? This award is theirs as well, and I would like to dedicate this award to them and FORMDEV.”

I am so very sorry to have missed this opportunity to honor Br. Ceci and to dedicate the award to the FORMDEV facis. I thought it was tomorrow, Friday. And so, doing what I normally do every Thursday evening, I was with the FORMDEV facis studying God’s Word and fellowshipping with them, totally oblivious of the awarding ceremonies happening at the same time.

Now that I think about it though, I believe that this is what Br. Ceci would say:

“My friend, you honor me by being with these young Lasallians, whom we dearly love.”

May this boo-boo remind me to remain faithful to the work that we started, by God’s grace, more than a decade ago.

We love you, Br. Ceci.

And FORMDEV facis, this award is for you. YOU are De La Salle’s Outstanding Mission Partners. God bless you!

(Thanks to Gwen Centeno and Joseph Añonuevo for the photo.)

4 thoughts on “Gawad Br. Cecilio Hojilla, FSC

  1. Congratulations Doc! Sayang nga hindi ka naka-attend. 😦 Mas masaya sana.. (sorry nanghihinayang lang talaga ako.. 😦 )

    1. Thanks, Gwen. Ako rin nanghihinayang, pero mukhang itinakda talagang mangyaring ganito. I mean, I don’t think it was mere coincidence that I was with the FORMDEV facis, doing what we normally do, studying God’s Word, at the same time that the award was being given. Don’t you think that the Lord and Br. Ceci were smiling in heaven at that very moment? 🙂

Leave a Reply

