Resurrection – “Lord, I’m amazed by you, how you love me.”

The sky might be overcast but, rain or shine, today we celebrate the greatest of feasts, that of the resurrection of our Lord Jesus Christ! It is a beautiful day, hallelujah!

I Am Free(As you read this, you might want to play Amazed in the background. From Ross Parsley’s album I Am Free, the song is about how amazing God’s love is. Just click on the Play button below.)

This morning, after thanking God for the resurrection of our Lord Jesus, I asked God, “Why, Lord?” That is, why the resurrection? Surely by the death of Jesus the penalty of all of the past, present, and future sins of mankind has been paid, so that everyone who receives Jesus has fellowship with the Father forever and ever (John 1:12). So why the resurrection?

Each year, by God’s grace, I realize more and more how love (1 John 4:16) is the Triune God’s greatest attribute, and so it didn’t take long for me to “hear” the answer to my question.

  • As the Triune God — the Father, the Son, and the Holy Spirit — did the unexpected, creating humankind in God’s image, out of overflowing Love; and
  • As the Triune God did the unimaginable, suffering the separation of the Son from the Father (demonstrated in our dimension by the death of Jesus) out of sacrificial Love for humankind;
  • So the Triune God did the impossible, coming together again (demonstrated in our dimension by the resurrection of Jesus) out of unconquerable Love, so that we can have fellowship not only with the Father but also with the Son and the Holy Spirit — the Triune God — forever and ever!

Love is the answer! And so with Ross Parsley, I sing, “Lord I’m amazed by you, how you love me!” And I worship you!  Let the whole world rejoice in God our Creator, Redeemer, and Friend!

P.S.

I am indebted to Timothy Keller for deepening my understanding of the Triune God through The Reason for God and Jesus the King: Understanding the Life and Death of the Son of God.

P.S. 2

Just now I revisited my post last year on the Resurrection, and I realized I didn’t hear any birds chirping upon waking up this morning. But I did hear a dog barking in the distance, the kind of bark that a dog uses when happy at the sight of its master.  Given that I love dogs, how can I not be amazed at how the Lord loves me? 🙂

P.S. 3

After finishing writing this post, I looked out the window and lo, it’s a sunny day! 🙂

14 thoughts on “Resurrection – “Lord, I’m amazed by you, how you love me.”

  1. I am so touched by your thoughts. It brought tears to my eyes.
    Today is truly the feast of all feasts! This marks His triumph. His triumph that He so freely gave us.

    1. Amen, God is victorious!

      Thank you, Teench. The love of God never fails to bring me to tears. And the tears flow especially profusely when I repeatedly listen to and meditate on Ross’ Amazed… “How wide, how deep, how great is your love for me! Lord, I’m amazed by you, how you love me!”

  2. It’s great to be reminded that we don’t have to over-think or over-analyze Jesus’ sacrifice for us. It is and will always be because of love 🙂 Thanks for the inspiring post, Doc!

    1. Thanks, Gena! You’re right, on one hand, we shouldn’t over-analyze God’s sacrifice. On the other hand, one simply cannot overvalue the amazing Love that paid the penalty of all of our sins! “Lord I’m amazed…”

  3. Thank you for this, Doc! I have never been this happy during the Resurrection. Before, Easter Sunday is just an ordinary day for me. But yesterday, I felt so much happiness and gratefulness to God. Maybe because now I can say that I have deeper relationship with God because of you and our Bible study meetings. Thank you ulit, Doc! God bless po.

    1. Wow, I’m so glad to hear of how happy and grateful you felt, Gwen! Let us pray that each Resurrection Sunday we will find ourselves more and more deeply immersed in the love of God in Christ.

  4. Hi Doc Sison,

    Thank you for sharing this post. This reminds me that I must be thankful each and everyday, not only during this particular season. There’s so much to be thankful for everyday — from the littlest of things to the big ones that causes to happen everyday. 🙂

    I absolutely love the song you shared also! Cannot wait to share it with the praise and worship team at our youth. 🙂

    Hope to see you soon!

    More blessings to you! 🙂

    1. Indeed, Jeri, may we live a lifestyle of gratitude and love!

      I’m very happy to know that you’re leading the youth praise and worship! God is truly amazing, and I’m proud of you.

Leave a Reply

